How to Deactivate or Delete Snapchat Account in 2022 [Guide]

Unlike other popular social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram, Snapchat can be an overwhelming place for many. As someone who can’t keep up with the endless loops of Snapstreaks and filters, I often tend to reinstall the app every month just to know what my friends are up to. Whether you’re someone who doesn’t want to be under peer pressure to keep Snapstreaks going, or just looking for a way to take a break from the messaging platform, you’ve come to the right place. This in-depth article will teach you how to deactivate or delete your Snapchat account.

Deactivate or delete a Snapchat account (2022)

In addition to instructions on how to deactivate and delete your Snapchat account, we’ve also included steps on how to download your Snapchat data. If you intend to permanently delete your Snapchat account, consider requesting your account information in case you need it later.

Download Snapchat data before deleting the account

Before you deactivate or delete your Snapchat account, you can download a copy of your data. That’s how it’s done:

1. Sign in to Snapchat Account portal in a desktop or mobile browser, and click on “My details” Button.

2. Scroll down to the end and Click on the “Send request” button to request your Snapchat information.

Send data request

3. You will now see a confirmation message confirming the request. Depending on the data volume, it may take a while to receive the email with the details about how to download your Snapchat data. You can then proceed to delete your Snapchat account.

Request confirmation

Data you can download from Snapchat

In case you’re wondering, the email from Snapchat with your details includes the following details:

  • Login history and account information
    • Basic information
    • Device information
    • Device history
    • Login history
    • Account deactivated / reactivated
  • Snap history
    • Received snap history
    • Snap history sent
  • Chat history
    • Receive chat history
    • Chat history sent
  • Our story and spotlight content
  • Purchase history
    • In-app purchases
    • Geofilter on request
  • Store history
  • Snapchat support history
  • User profile
    • App profile
    • Demographics
    • engagement
    • Explore the respected channels
    • Breakdown of time spent on the app
    • Ads that you’ve interacted with
    • Interest categories
    • Web interactions
    • App interactions
  • public profile
  • friends
    • Friends list
    • Friend requests sent
    • Blocked users
    • Deleted friends
    • Suggestions for hidden friends
    • Ignored Snapchatters
  • Precedence
  • History story
    • Your story views
    • Friends’ views and public stories
  • Account history
    • Change display name
    • Change the email
    • Change mobile number
    • Password change
    • Snapchat linked to Bitmoji
    • glasses
    • Two-factor authentication
  • Venue
    • Frequent locations
    • last position
    • Business and public places you may have visited
    • Areas you may have visited in the past two years
  • Search history
  • Conceptual history
  • Subscriptions
  • Bitmoji
    • Basic information
    • Analytics
    • Conditions of acceptance history
    • Enable keyboard history
  • In-app surveys
  • Reported content
  • Bitmoji kit
  • Connected apps
    • right
    • Associated Applications
  • Speak story
  • Ad management
  • Snapping Games & Minis
  • My lenses
  • memories
  • Cameos
  • Email campaign history
  • Snap token
  • scans
  • assignments
  • Snap the card post into place

How to deactivate the Snapchat account

1. Open the Snapchat Account portal and Click on “Delete my account”.

2. Enter your Snapchat credentials, namely username and password, and Click Next to continue.

3. And that’s it. You will now see a confirmation message letting you know that your Snapchat account will be deactivated shortly. If you change your mind, you can reactivate your Snapchat account within 30 days. See the next section for instructions on how to reactivate your Snapchat account.

How to reactivate the Snapchat account

If you regret your decision to leave Snapchat, your account can be got back. The catch is you have to reactivate your account within 30 days. According to the company’s support page, Your account will remain deactivated for the first 30 days and will be permanently deleted after a further 30 days.

However, we saw conflicting information suggesting that you have 180 days to reactivate the account from the reactivation screen (as shown in the screenshots below). There seems to be an internal misunderstanding here and the existing 60-day period can be safely assumed for the time being. How to reactivate your Snapchat account:

1. Reactivating your Snapchat account is easy. All you have to do is Log in to the app again with your username and password.

log into Snapchat

2. In the reactivation confirmation prompt, tap “Yes” and you will be able to access your account again. As mentioned earlier, it’s not entirely clear whether Snapchat changed the account reactivation deadline. We have asked Snapchat for confirmation and will update this article if we hear anything.

Reactivate Snapchat

How to delete a Snapchat account

When you are done with Snapchat and you think you are better off without Snapchat, you can delete your account. The steps to deactivate and delete the account are the same, but you can read the instructions below for clarity.

1. Visit Snapchats Web account portal and click on “delete my account“.

2. On the next page, enter your username and password and Click on the yellow “Next” button.

3. You have successfully deleted your Snapchat account. As long as you do not manually reactivate your account later (within the specified reactivation period), Snapchat will ultimately delete your account for good.

Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Q. What is the difference between deleting and disabling Snapchat?

If you deactivate your Snapchat account, you will have the option to reactivate it within 30 days. On the other hand, deleting your Snapchat account is permanent and irreversible. However, the deactivation and removal method is the same.

Q: How to permanently delete a Snapchat account in 2022?

You can permanently delete your Snapchat account from the company’s web portal. Refer to the section above for detailed instructions on how to delete your Snapchat account.

Q. How do I delete my Snapchat account on my phone?

It is very easy to delete your Snapchat account on your smartphone. Although you can’t do this through the app, open that Snapchat web account portal in a mobile browser and follow the steps outlined above in this guide.

Q: How do I reactivate my Snapchat account?

After deactivation, you have the option to reactivate your Snapchat account within 30 days. All you have to do is log in with your Snapchat credentials to get your account back within that time frame.

Q: How do you know if someone deleted their Snapchat account?

You can check if someone deleted their Snapchat account by looking for their username. If you don’t see it, then you probably deleted your Snapchat account.

Q: How can I restore my Snapchat account?

You can restore your Snapchat account if you lost the password or username. We have a dedicated article on How to Recover Your Snapchat Account that you can check out.

Simply deactivate or delete your Snapchat account

While it’s disappointing that Snapchat doesn’t have an in-app option to easily disable or delete an account, you can always head over to the company’s web accounts portal. If you were going to do so, we hope this guide has been useful. If you have any questions about deleting your Snapchat account, let us know in the comments below and we will try to help you.

Related Posts