How to Deactivate or Delete Snapchat Account in 2022 [Guide]

Unlike other popular social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram, Snapchat can be an overwhelming place for many. As someone who can’t keep up with the endless grind of Snapstreaks and filters, I often tend to reinstall the app on a monthly basis just to know what my friends are up to. Whether you’re someone who doesn’t want to experience the peer pressure to keep Snapstreaks going or just looking for a way to take a break from the messaging platform, you’ve come to the right place. In this in-depth article, we’ll learn how to deactivate or delete your Snapchat account.

Deactivate or Delete Snapchat Account (2022)

In addition to instructions on how to deactivate and delete your Snapchat account, we’ve also included steps to download your Snapchat data. If you plan on deleting your Snapchat account permanently, consider requesting your account information in case you need it later.

Download Snapchat data before deleting account

Before deactivating or deleting your Snapchat account, you can choose to download a copy of your data. Here’s how to do it:

1. Log into Snapchat’s account portal in a desktop or mobile browser and click on “My details” knob.

manage account snapchat

2. Scroll down to the end and click on the button “Submit request” to request your Snapchat information.

submit data request

3. You will now see a confirmation message confirming the request. Based on the data volume, it may take a while for you to receive the email with details to download your Snapchat data. You can then proceed with deleting your Snapchat account.

request confirmation

Data you can download from Snapchat

In case you’re wondering, Snapchat’s email with your details contains the following details:

  • Login history and account information
    • Basic information
    • Device information
    • Device History
    • Login history
    • Account deactivated/reactivated
  • Snap History
    • Received Snap History
    • Sent Snap History
  • Chat history
    • Receive chat history
    • Sent chat history
  • Our story and spotlight content
  • Purchase history
    • In-app purchases
    • Geofilters on request
  • Store history
  • Snapchat Support History
  • User profile
    • App profile
    • demographics
    • Engagement
    • Discover the viewed channels
    • Breakdown of time spent on the app
    • Ads you’ve interacted with
    • Interest categories
    • web interactions
    • App interactions
  • Public profile
  • friends
    • Friend list
    • Friend Requests Sent
    • Blocked users
    • Deleted friends
    • Hidden Friends Suggestions
    • Ignored Snapchatters
  • ranking
  • History story
    • Your Story Views
    • Views from friends and public stories
  • Account history
    • Change display name
    • Change email
    • change mobile number
    • Password change
    • Snapchat linked to Bitmoji
    • Glasses
    • Two-Factor Authentication
  • Venue
    • Frequent locations
    • Last location
    • Business and public places you may have visited
    • Areas you may have visited in the last two years
  • Search history
  • Terms History
  • Subscriptions
  • Bitmoji
    • Basic information
    • Analytics
    • Conditions Acceptance History
    • Enable keyboard history
  • In-app Surveys
  • Reported content
  • Bitmoji Kit
  • Connected apps
    • rights
    • Connected Applications
  • Talking history
  • Ads Management
  • Snap Games & Minis
  • My lenses
  • Memories
  • cameos
  • Email Campaign History
  • Snap Tokens
  • scans
  • Orders
  • Snap Map Posts

How to Deactivate Snapchat Account

1. Open the Snapchat account portal and click on “Delete my account”.

delete account snapchat

2. Enter your Snapchat credentials, namely username & password, and click on “Continue” to continue.

delete snapchat account

3. And that’s it. You will now see a confirmation message stating that your Snapchat account will be deactivated soon. If you change your mind, you can reactivate your Snapchat account within 30 days. See the next section for instructions on how to reactivate your Snapchat account.

confirmation of deactivation

How To Reactivate Snapchat Account

If you regret your decision to leave Snapchat, you can get your account back. The catch is that you have to reactivate your account within 30 days. According to the company’s support page, your account will remain deactivated for the first 30 days and permanently deleted after another 30 days.

However, we have seen conflicting information suggesting that you have 180 days to reactivate the account from the reactivation screen (as shown in the screenshots below). There seems to be an internal miscommunication here and it’s safe to assume the existing 60-day deadline for now. That said, here’s how to reactivate your Snapchat account:

1. Reactivating your Snapchat account is easy. All you have to do is sign in to the app again with your username and password.

login to snapchat

2. In the reactivation confirmation prompt, tap “Yes” and you will be able to access your account again. As mentioned, it’s not entirely clear whether Snapchat has revised the account reactivation deadline. We’ve reached out to Snapchat for confirmation and will update this article if we hear anything.

reactivate snapchat

How To Delete Snapchat Account

If you’re all done with Snapchat and think you’re better off without Snapchat, you can choose to delete your account. The steps to deactivate and delete the account are the same, but you can see the instructions below for clarity.

1. Visit Snapchat’s web account portal and click on “delete my account“.

delete account snapchat

2. Enter your username and password on the next page and click on the yellow “Continue” button.

delete snapchat account

3. You have successfully deleted your Snapchat account. As long as you don’t manually reactivate your account later (within the stated reactivation period), Snapchat will eventually delete your account for good.

confirmation of deactivation

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q. What is the difference between deleting and deactivating Snapchat?

If you deactivate your Snapchat account, you have the option to reactivate it within 30 days. On the other hand, deleting your Snapchat account is permanent and irreversible. However, the method of deactivation and removal is the same.

Q: How do you permanently delete a Snapchat account in 2022?

You can permanently delete your Snapchat account from the company’s web portal. You can refer to the section above for detailed instructions on how to delete your Snapchat account.

Q. How do I delete my Snapchat account on my phone?

It is easy to delete your Snapchat account on your smartphone. While you can’t do this from the app, open the Snapchat Web Account Portal in a mobile browser and follow the steps described above in this guide.

Q: How do I reactivate my Snapchat account?

Once deactivated, you have the option to reactivate your Snapchat account within 30 days. All you need to do is log in with your Snapchat credentials to get your account back within this period.

Q: How do you know if someone has deleted their Snapchat account?

You can check if someone has deleted their Snapchat account by searching for their username. If it doesn’t show up, chances are they’ve deleted their Snapchat account.

Q: How can I recover my Snapchat account?

You can recover your Snapchat account if you have lost the password or username. We have a special article to: recover snapchat account that you can check out.

Simply deactivate or delete your Snapchat account

While it’s disappointing that Snapchat doesn’t have an in-app option to easily deactivate or delete an account, you can always head over to the company’s web account portal to do so. If you were planning to do that, we hope this guide helped you. If you have any questions about deleting your Snapchat account, let us know in the comments below and we’ll try to help.

Related Posts